Happiness: Is Your Glass Half-Full?

Courtesy of linkedin.com

Courtesy of linkedin.com

I’m generally a happy person and my glass is half-full. In fact, I’m so adept at consciously trying to appreciate the minutiae of life, that my glass practically spilleth over in comparison to millions of people across the world.

If I wake up in a grumpy mood, I try hard to think to myself that I am being silly, and I turn my thoughts instead to the umpteen, literally myriad things, that I have to feel ridiculously happy about.

These might include tiny things, such as the fact that it is autumn, my favourite season, or that I can already begin to look forward to picking my girls up from school in the afternoon.

I enjoy the sensation, as I assume most of us are evolutionarily programmed to, of being happy, and sometimes we just need to consciously remind ourselves of all the beautiful things in our lives, as opposed to simply the stresses and strains of 21st century living.

This week has been a busy week for me, and when I arrived in work this morning I was definitely near to losing my positive thoughts, but I am lucky enough to work in a place where even the staff are like an extension of family. No sooner had I bemoaned my morning, than my colleagues had cheered me up, to the extent of my laughing very hard – and what better cure is there than that?

Not only did they make me laugh, they also empathized, and actively sought solutions to my daft woes, and then, a few minutes later, my colleague Sandi did something even sweeter.

Sandi came over to the desk where I was sitting, and presented me with a bunch of stunning roses and lilies that somebody had given her. She knew I needed cheering up, and she literally passed her own little piece of happiness on to me. Such a kind and selfless act, and I was incredibly touched.

I am so lucky in my life to be surrounded by such a supportive family. My husband and my mum, and my closest friends, totally have my back, and I theirs. My colleagues are the strongest team of people that I’ve ever been fortunate enough to work with, sharing one core goal which is caring for the students we are privileged enough to teach, and I have a career that I love. I have also been lucky enough not to be touched by the black dog of depression, thus far anyway.

Not everyone is so fortunate, and that’s not a cliché, it’s simply a truth that we all need to remember some days. We won’t always be happy, sometimes life drags you lower than you ever imagined possible, so recognise those sweet times, cling to the good, and package them up in memory for the days when living hits you hard.

Be happy.

First published in The Portsmouth News, Tuesday 13th October 2015

Leave a Reply

